Login |  Register |  help

2008 PCL Red/Blue Divisional Team Alignment

Posted Sunday, August 17, 2008 by Saints Reporter
New Alignment for Upcoming Season
For the upcoming 2008, the PCL is formally joining the PIAA. In order to compete on a fair basis, the soccer coaches of the PCL decided in the Fall of 2007 to realign the divisional structure according to PIAA guidelines.

The new divisions will be as follows. The playoffs are also adjusted but there still will only be one champion for the PCL in 2008.

Red Division:

Archbishop Ryan
Cardinal O'Hara
Father Judge
Monsignor Bonner
North Catholic
Roman Catholic
St. Joe's Prep

Blue Division:

Archbishop Carroll
Archbishop Wood
Bishop McDevitt
Cardinal Dougherty
Conwell Egan
Kennedy Kenrick
Lansdale Catholic (new member 2008)
West Catholic

The playoff structure is as follows:

1. The top 6 teams from the Red Division make the playoffs and the top 2 teams from the Blue make the playoffs.
2. First round is within division. In the Red, it will be 1 vs. 6, 2 vs. 5, 3 vs. 4.
3. The four remaining teams will be re-seeded. Tie-breakers will be broken by total points accumulated in the season.
4. The two remaining teams will play for championship.
5. As of now, the champion would move on to play the Public League champion for the Division 12 title and move on to the PIAA Regional playoffs in the AAA category.

This page was created in 0.1090 seconds on server 132